By MisterMuncher
I'm an artist trapped in the body of a baby navvy, having the manual dexterity of a disembodied foot. I thought, for a second, that AI image generation would be the thing that would get the ideas out of my head and onto "paper", bypassing that whole *shit fingers* element, and by God it just doesn't fucking work. Unless you're prepared to spend hours feeding it, fucking about with the prompts, tweaking this and that and then retouching the bastard thing at the end anyway, the results just plain don't impress. I wanted a simple "X in the style of Y" thing (a Cacodemon from Doom rendered in the shiny, cutesy, plastic-y CGI of babies' TV show Cocomelon) and after hours of fruitless pissing about, I think I'll just learn to draw.
By Youngian
I'm an artist trapped in the body of a baby navvy, having the manual dexterity of a disembodied foot. I thought, for a second, that AI image generation would be the thing that would get the ideas out of my head and onto "paper", bypassing that whole *shit fingers* element, and by God it just doesn't fucking work.

‘If it’s not hard to do it’s not as worthy’ has echoes in most creative sectors. I doubt Kraftwerk have Jimi Hendrix’s experience, dexterity and virtuosity with a musical instrument but so what? Using technology to by-pass the faff in producing your art is very creative in itself.
By MisterMuncher
There's a rather good episode of Rich Herring's podcast where he's interviewing Reece Shearsmith of Inside No. 9 fame, who points out that having ideas and inspiration is all very well, but it's not a "good" idea until you actually work it through and find out whether or not it produces something viable.

There's a great bit about people pestering him (unintentionally) with the repeated notion "You should do one set on a no. 9 bus*"

"Oh yeah? Yeah? Wow. Write it then, ya CUNT".